Why vitamin D is your best friend

What’s the big deal with vitamin D? Here’s why the sunshine vitamin is essential for boosting your mind, body and soul #health #wellness #HolmesPlace #EnjoyTheJourney

After a long, dark winter, anything dubbed the ‘sunshine vitamin’ should be welcomed into our wellness routine resolutely. But how much do you really know about vitamin D? Start exploring the benefits of this health-boosting vitamin and you may be surprised at just how beneficial those summer rays are for your body.

Why vitamin D is important has been highlighted by doctors for years, but only recently has it been proven in the British Medical Journal that the vitamin can cut the risk of colds, flu and other dangerous infections.

If you’re in a part of the world with minimal sunny days, your levels may well be running low. Here’s what you need to know about upping your intake, the best ways to get it, and exactly why this sunshine vitamin is golden for both your body and mind.


What is vitamin D?

Despite the name, vitamin D is actually a pro-hormone - going through an array of biochemical reactions in the body before you can actually use it. There are five different types - D1, D2, D3, D4 and D5, some of which can affect as many as 2,000 genes in your body.

When we’re exposed to sunlight, UV rays penetrate the skin and activate the inactive form of vitamin D, spurring its wonderful benefits.


Why is it so important?

Since it regulates the absorption of calcium and phosphorus, vitamin D is crucial for healthy bones, teeth and muscles. It’s not only vital for the immune system, but it can reduce the likelihood of cancer and help prevent mental health problems. Research has shown that vitamin D may help ward off depression - people with the condition found an improvement after taking vitamin D supplements.

Without vitamin D, you may be preventing yourself from seeing results at the gym, too. If your body can’t absorb calcium, bone growth and muscle strength suffer. Some studies have shown that the sunshine vitamin regulates insulin sensitivity, in turn affecting metabolism and aiding in weight loss.


How can I get more vitamin D?

With an increasing amount of studies into how vitamin D works, we’re more in-the-know than ever on how to prevent deficiencies. Here are a few ways you can boost your levels:

1. Add more D to your diet

Eating your way to higher levels can help - oily fish (such as salmon, sardines and mackerel), egg yolks and red meat all contain small amounts of it. Other sources include breakfast cereals and some yoghurts, which are fortified with vitamin D.

2. Take vitamin D supplements

If you’ve had a blood test that shows you’re deficient, another way to up your sunshine vitamin is by taking a vitamin D supplement. Make sure it’s the real thing, vitamin D3, known as cholecalciferol. Many cheap multivitamins are made up of vitamin D2, ergocalciferol, which is synthetic and less effective. Pop a daily supplement of 10mcg (400 iu) of vitamin D, especially during the winter months, when sunshine is scarce.

3. Soak up the sunshine

The most obvious way to up your intake of the sunshine vitamin naturally is to get under those warming rays. Sunlight spurs your body to make vitamin D - this means about 20 to 25 minutes of exposure a day (not through a window). Those with darker skin and older people may need longer to acquire their daily intake, however, as skin pigmentation hinders light absorption and the process loses efficiency with age.

Category Tags

Warum Vitamin D Ihr bester Freund ist

Was hat es mit dem vielbesagten Vitamin D auf sich? Wir verraten Ihnen, warum das “Sonnenvitamin” essentiell ist für Körper, Geist und Wohlbefinden #Gesundheit #wellness #HolmesPlace #EnjoyTheJourney

Nach einem langen, dunklen Winter sollte das Sonnenvitamin unbedingt in die tägliche Körperpflege aufgenommen werden. Aber wieviel wissen Sie eigentlich über Vitamin D? Erkunden Sie die Vorteile dieses gesundheitsfördernden Vitamins und seien Sie überrascht, was diese Sommersonnenstrahlen alles für Ihren Körper tun.

Die Bedeutung von Vitamin D wird seit Jahren von vielen Ärzten betont, aber erst kürzlich wurde im British Medical Journal eine Studie veröffentlicht, die zeigte, dass dieses Vitamin das Erkältungs- und Infektionsrisiko mindern kann.

Menschen in Regionen mit minimalen Sonnentagen im Jahr haben einen sehr niedrigen Vitamin-D-Level. Hier erfahren Sie, was Sie tun müssen, um die Vitamin-D-Zufuhr zu erhöhen und warum genau dieses Vitamin Gold für Körper und Geist ist.


Was ist Vitamin D?

Trotz des Namens ist Vitamin D eigentlich ein Prohormon, das erst nach einer Reihe von biochemischen Reaktionen vom Körper genutzt werden kann. Es gibt fünf verschiedene Typen – D1, D2, D3, D4 und D5 – von denen einige fast 2000 Gene im Körper beeinflussen können.

Wenn wir Sonnenlicht ausgesetzt sind, durchdringen die UV-Strahlen die Haut und aktivieren eine inaktive Form des Vitamin D, von der unser Körper profitiert.


Warum ist es so wichtig?

Vitamin D reguliert die Absorption von Calcium und Phosphor und ist damit essentiell für die Gesundheit der Knochen, Zähne und Muskeln. Es ist nicht nur unerlässlich für das Immunsystem, sondern kann auch das Krebsrisiko senken und psychischen Problemen vorbeugen. In Studien wurde gezeigt, dass Vitamin D Depressionen lindern kann. Betroffene gaben nach Einnahme von Vitamin-D-haltigen Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln eine Verbesserung hinsichtlich Ihrer Symptome an.

Ein Vitamin-D-Mangel kann sogar sportliche Leistungen hemmen. Wenn der Körper nicht in der Lage ist, Calcium zu absorbieren, resultiert dies in vermindertem Knochenwachstum und verringerter Muskelkraft. In einigen Studien wird davon berichtet, dass das Sonnenvitamin die Insulinempfindlichkeit reguliert, den Stoffwechsel beeinflusst und die Gewichtsabnahme unterstützt.


Wie bekommt man mehr Vitamin D?

Dank der steigenden Anzahl wissenschaftlicher Studien zur Wirkungsweise von Vitamin D wissen wir mehr denn je darüber, wie wir Vitamin-D-Mangel entgegenwirken können. Hier sind ein paar Tipps, wie Sie Ihren Vitamin-D-Level erhöhen können:


1. Ergänzen Sie Ihre Ernährung mit mehr Vitamin D

Sie können sich zu einem höheren Vitamin-D-Level essen – fettiger Fisch (wie Lachs, Sardinen und Makrele), Eigelb und rotes Fleisch beinhalten kleine Mengen davon. Andere Quellen sind Frühstückscerealien und bestimmte Arten von Jogurt, die mit Vitamin D angereichert sind.


2. Nehmen Sie Vitamin D-Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Wenn in einem Bluttest ein Vitamin-D-Mangel festgestellt wird, helfen spezielle Nahrungsergänzungsmittel diesen Mangel auszugleichen. Achten Sie darauf, dass es das richtige ist, nämlich Vitamin D3, auch bekannt als Cholecalciferol. Viele günstige Multivitamine beinhalten Vitamin D2, Ergocalciferol, das synthetisch und weniger effektiv ist. Nehmen Sie eine tägliche Dosis von 10µg Vitamin D, vor allem in den Wintermonaten, wenn die Sonneneinstrahlung gering ist.

3. Tanken Sie Sonne

Eine sehr naheliegende Maßnahme, um den Vitamin-D-Gehalt im Körper zu erhöhen, ist ein Sonnenbad. Sonnenlicht regt den Körper zur Vitamin-D-Produktion an – 20 bis 25 Minuten pro Tag genügen (nicht durch eine Fensterscheibe). Bei Menschen mit dunklerer Haut und älteren Menschen dauert es möglicherweise länger, um den Tagesbedarf zu decken, da die Pigmentierung die Haut bei der Absorption des Lichts behindert und der Prozess mit zunehmendem Alter an Effizienz verliert.

Category Tags